Clean Adobe Cloud Junk Files in System

The well-known cloud application bundle from Adobe is known to reserve a large portion of the hard disk space for their files, data and cache.

Obviously the files can’t be removed to save the space, as they are required to function the applications installed with the creative cloud bundle properly. However, cache files can be removed without any problem, and it’s recommended to do so every once in awhile, and this tutorial teaches how to remove such files with ease.

 

Solutions

Solution 1: Using the Disk Cleanup Utility

The classical disk cleanup utility bundled with Windows itself is an ideal tool for removing the temporary files left by certain creative cloud applications, such as Photoshop, Illustrator to save the hard disk space. Usually the temporary files are removed automatically once the application is closed by the user, but when it’s not happened they have to be removed manually to regain the wasted space.

  1. Click on the start button to open the start menu.
  2. Search for Disk Cleanup utility, then select to open it.

    Searching for Disk Cleanup
    Searching for Disk Cleanup
  3. Select the System Drive (in default C:\) to clean up.
    image00
  4. Let it scan the system for junk files/temporary files.

    Calculating the total amount of disk space to be freed up
    Calculating the total amount of disk space to be freed up
  5. Select all the files listed in the Files to delete panel.
    image02
  6. Click OK to start deleting the junk files from the system.

 

Solution 2: Purging the Bridge Cache

Adobe Bridge is bundled with the Adobe Creative Cloud suite, helps to organize the files being used with other Adobe creative cloud applications, and for that it uses a central location where the images can be viewed just as with the default image viewer in Windows. To enhance the performance, Adobe Bridge has a mechanism to store the cache files of the images. These caches contain thumbnail files, metadata information, preview, so the bridge doesn’t have to access to the files whenever they are requested. Unfortunately, when there is a large amount of images, and when the bridge has been used for a while, the cache accumulates to the level that it eats up a whole a lot of the space, thereby leaving little to no space to users. These steps demonstrate how to remove the caches leftover by Adobe Bridge.

  1. Launch Adobe Bridge Creative Cloud.
  2. Click on Tools from its menu bar.
  3. Then select CachePurge Cache to remove the caches stored by a particular image.
    image05
  4. To remove the entire cache volume, select Preferences.

    Click on Preferences
    Click on Preferences
  5. Go through the available options and locate Cache.
    image05
  6. Now click on Purge Cache to delete all the caches stored by the software.

    Click Purge Cache to remove all cache contents permanently
    Click on Purge Cache to remove all cache contents permanently